Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Identification of Eligibility #sped

To be eligible for special education and related services, the case conference committee (CCC) must determine, based on the evaluation results and other information, that the child is a student with a disability. A student with a disability is a child who has been evaluated in accordance with Article 7 and been determined eligible for special education and related services by a CCC.

The purpose of an educational evaluation is to assess areas of educational need. The school must look at the student’s academic achievement and functional performance to determine whether the student’s disability has an impact on the student’s educational performance. The school must ensure that the method it uses to assess students provides meaningful information that directly helps the CCC make decisions regarding eligibility and educational services. 

The process begins with a request that a student be evaluated for a suspected disability. This request is known as a referral. The parent(s) or school personnel may make a request to have a student evaluated for special education. Before the school can evaluate the student, the parent(s) must give written consent for evaluation. 

If written parental consent for evaluation is provided, a multidisciplinary team (M-Team) conducts a comprehensive educational evaluation. When the educational evaluation is completed, school personnel and the parent(s) meet (a process known as the CCC meeting) to review the evaluation results and determine if the student is eligible for special education and related services. There are various timelines, notices, and procedural safeguards throughout the referral and evaluation process to ensure that the evaluation is completed in a timely manner and that the parent(s) are informed of the educational evaluation results.

A student may be found eligible for special education and related services in one or more of the thirteen (13) disability categories: 
• Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) 
• Blind or Low Vision (BLV) 
• Cognitive Disability (CD) 
• Deaf or Hard of Hearing (DHH) 
• Deaf-Blind (DB) 
• Developmental Delay (DD) (early childhood only) 
• Emotional Disability (ED) 
• Language or Speech Impairment (LSI) 
• Multiple Disabilities (MD) 
• Other Health Impairment (OHI) 
• Orthopedic Impairment (OI) 
• Specific Learning Disability (SLD) 
• Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) 

For more detailed information on the individual disability categories, see 511 IAC 7- 41-1 through 7-41-13 in Article 7.

No comments: