Thursday, June 23, 2016

Governor's Health Workforce Council

Meetings are open to the public.


Upcoming Meetings

  • Thursday, September 1, 2016, 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    Indiana Government Center South, Conference Room A
    302 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204
  • Monday, December 5, 2016, 1:00 PM - 3:00 PMIndiana Government Center South, Conference Room 1 & 2
    302 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204

Past Meetings

June 3, 2016
February 29, 2016

Council Taskforces


Governor Mike Pence created the Governor’s Health Workforce Council, which is charged with coordinating health workforce-related policies, programs, and initiatives within Indiana in order to reduce cost, improve access, and enhance quality within Indiana’s health system. The Council is also focused on developing data-driven health workforce policies to grow Indiana's well-trained health workforce.
Beginning in July 2014, the Governor’s Office worked with the Bowen Center for Health Workforce Research and Policy in the Department of Family Medicine at IU School of Medicine on a project sponsored by the National Governor’s Association (NGA) to help address health care provider shortages in Indiana. The goal of the project was to identify and develop a long-term strategy to ensure that Indiana has an accessible, well-trained, and flexible health workforce that is able to adapt to the ever-changing and growing needs of Hoosiers. At the conclusion of the NGA project, it was recommended that the state of Indiana establish an advisory council for the purpose of coordinating health workforce policy efforts in Indiana and establish a formal partnership for data exchange with the Bowen Center for Health Workforce Research and Policy.

Council Composition

The Council brings together state agencies, legislators, health care experts and industry leaders. It includes members from both the public and private sector, including representatives from the Governor’s office and designees from the Department of Workforce Development, Senate Health and Provider Services Committee, House Public Health Committee, Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Indiana Family and Social Services Administration, Indiana State Department of Health, Indiana Department of Education, Indiana Commission on Higher Education, Bowen Center for Health Workforce Research and Policy, Anthem, Indiana Hospital Association, Indiana Rural Health Association and Indiana Primary Care Association.


  • Michael Barnes (Chair) - Indiana Department of Workforce Development
  • Lindsey Craig - Governor’s Office
  • Debbie Frye - Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
  • Don Kelso - Indiana Rural Health Association
  • Rep. Cindy Kirchhofer - House Public Health Committee
  • Doug Leonard - Indiana Hospital Association
  • Dr. Hannah Maxey - Bowen Center for Health Workforce Research and Policy
  • Sen. Patricia Miller - Senate Health and Provider Services Committee
  • Phil Morphew - Indiana Primary Care Association
  • Joe Moser - Indiana Family & Social Services Administration
  • Dr. Ken Sauer - Indiana Commission for Higher Education
  • Tom Vandergrift - Anthem
  • Dr. Jennifer Walthall - Indiana State Department of Health
  • Pete Weldy - Indiana Department of Education

No comments: