Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Webinar - The Trump Budget: What You Need to Know

Webinar - The Trump Budget: What You Need to Know

Thursday, March 14th

2 P.M. EDT, 1 P.M. CDT, 12 P.M. MDT, 11 A.M. PDT

Register Here


Join the Coalition on Human Needs for a webinar that will tell you what you need to know about the Trump Budget and arm you for the important fights to come.
The FY2020 Trump Budget came out yesterday, and and it would deny trillions of dollars in services to those who need them the most. Just like last year, the Trump Budget proposes big cuts to programs like healthcare, housing and food assistance, education, and more, all as tax cuts for the rich stay protected. It’s a bully’s budget that targets people the Trump Administration thinks can’t fight back.
Fortunately, that’s not true—we can fight back. Join CHN for a webinar that will tell you how, breaking down everything you need to know. You’ll also learn about positive opportunities to protect and expand the programs Trump wants to cut.
You’ll learn how to fight against cuts to basic needs programs like Medicaid or SNAP, and how we can advance real improvements in the services we need. You’ll find out more about the spending caps and how the President’s proposals would affect low- and moderate-income people through cuts to Medicaid, SNAP, housing, help for people with disabilities, education and job training, social services, and public health programs. And you’ll learn about opportunities to protect and expand human needs programs as Congress takes up the FY 2020 budget.

Speakers:

Sharon Parrott: Sharon is Senior Fellow and Senior Counselor at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities. A preeminent expert on federal budget and anti-poverty policy, Sharon served for two years as Associate Director for the Education, Income Maintenance, and Labor (EIML) Division at the Office of Management and Budget within the Obama Administration.
Deborah Weinstein: Debbie is Executive Director of the Coalition on Human Needs. In her four decades of advocacy experience, Debbie has worked on a wide range of issues at both the state and federal level. In her 16 years at CHN, she has focused on educating advocates about how to engage in critical federal budget choices on behalf of low-income people. She has been the recipient of many awards from human services and advocacy groups.
Moderator: Ellen Teller: Ellen is Director of Government Affairs at the Food Research & Action Center (FRAC) and Chair of the CHN Board.
Even if you can’t attend the webinar, you should register to gain access to the materials with a recording of the webinar, handouts, and additional resources.

Accessibility Assistance:

The webinar will be captioned. The webinar will also be recorded, and all registrants will get the recording link with captions, slides, and follow-up information.

No comments: